Devotional Thought About Balaam’s Character

Numbers 22-25 records the encounter with Balaam and Balak. It is clear from Balaam’s persistence with Balak, that his inward hearts desire was the material wealth and comforts that Balak was offering. Balaam was a man who had the privilege of knowing God’s will. Much of Balaam’s response to Balak would be considered honorable because he did not say more or less than what God commanded to say. But Balaam is a negative character in the Bible storyline. The New Testament refers back to Balaam also in a negative light using craftiness to cause Israel to sin. So what it is about Balaam that God found so destestable?

The the obvious sin of Balaam is the evil counsel he gave Balak, even after knowing God’s purpose to bless Israel. Balaam came up with the idea to entice Israel to fornicate with the Moabite women. This sin would cause God to bring judgement upon His own people. But perhaps what is more troubling is that Balaam uses understanding of God to commit sin. This is similar to what Satan did in Eden. Like Satan, Balaam had no real power to do harm to Israel, so he uses God’s character like a weapon to bring down condemnation on them. Satan knew this in garden, so by enticing Adam to sin, God would be the one to curse them.

Balaam’s tactic works and Israel is plagued with a pestilence because of their sin. I wanted to spend some time thinking about Balaam for a moment to consider how such a man, knowing God’s will on the matter, could still devise a plan that is contrary to God’s heart? Does Balaam not love God? It would seem that he does not. But yet here he is a seer that God has chosen to reveal something of His will.

I suppose it is possible for modern day “men of God” to somehow possess a heart like the one of Balaam’s yet be in privilege to know God’s word. Personally, this seems like a dreadful state for one to be in. I suppose it is easy for men of God to suppose their heart is right with God because they know something of His will. I’m not juxtaposing merely someone who wears a sheep’s skin and who is utterly false. But I’m describing someone who really does know God’s mind on the matters of the world, yet is still enticed by sin.

I suppose the focus of my musings of Balaam is not on what he did, but the heart behind what he did. I see within myself a warring of two natures. I am someone who, by the grace of God, knows something of the heart of God and His will in matters of the world. But yet sin remains and is at utter conflict with the work of God.

I pray and beg God for His name’s sake to keep my feet from slipping. On a personal level, there is no real enemy to fear more than the sin is always crouching and waiting for opportunity to devour. Purge out the double-mindedness. Instruct me daily the way I should go. Let me not be found at home in the “time where kings go out to war”. Lead me not into temptation. Watch and pray.

For those who serve God, we are at war with sin. Sin is really the only thing harm a personal testimony. Satan is otherwise powerless, in spiritual terms, to curse God’s people where God has commanded a blessing. But if sin should find opportunity, God will chastise, rebuke, or even remove His hand. Think of many men of God, in the Bible, or that you know of, who have fallen. And even if there is a measure of redemption for them that follows, there will always remain a tarnish and a level of unmovable consequences.

I pray and beg God to help me, that my feet should not slip, and protect my children and sons in the faith that they would have a breastplate of righteousness securely fastened in their lives. I pray that they would love God and be able to avoid many hurtful sins such as I have come to experience. Thanks to God for the gift of righteousness in Jesus Christ. Knowing that finally, I’m able to offer to God a perfect righteousness that isn’t my own but imputed to me through the cross!

Leave a comment